Friday, April 30, 2010

Lalita Sahasranama # 213


mahati ca sa pujya ca

She is great and worthy of worship

It means that she is worshipped even by gods (lit., great), i.e., Siva and others

Thursday, April 29, 2010

Lalita Sahasranama # 212


Mahat rupam yasyah sa
She who is of great form

Mahat, the word refers to the supreme form which is beyond the four forms of Pradhana, Purusa, vyakta and kala

Wednesday, April 28, 2010

Lalita Sahasranama # 211


mrdasya (=sivasya) priya

She is the beloved of Mrda, i.e., Siva

The word mrda according to the Dhatupatha (Mrdasukhane), means happiness and the sattvic form of Lord Siva is called Mrda as he showers happiness on the devotees

Tuesday, April 27, 2010

Lalita Sahasranama # 210


mahati ca sa laksmisca
The great lakshmi

Mahalakshmi = the consort of Visnu. She is not different from Visnu. She is called Mahalakshmi as she killed the daitya called Mahala

The word laksmi may mean Parvati to which the honorific maha is prefixed.

A thirteen year old girl is also called Mahalaksmi

Monday, April 26, 2010

Lalita Sahasranama # 209


1) Mahati ca sa devi ca

Maha great. She has a body which is immeasurable by any measurement

2) mahadevasya (=candramurteh sivasya) iyam (=patni)
She is Mahadeva's wife

Mahadeva is the eight form of Siva, i.e., that of moon

3) Mahadevi means deity at the cakratirtha on the bank of Gandaki

Sunday, April 25, 2010

Lalita Sahasranama #208


mahesvarasyeyam mahesvari

She is the wife of Mahesvara

Mahesvara = attributes Param Siva who is beyond three qualities (i.e., Sattva, Rajas and Tamas). He is called Brahma, Visnu and Rudra Respectively when these qualities are attributed to him. But he is Mahesvara devoid of all qualities

lalita sahasranama # 207


Manonmani rupa ya sa
She has a form like that of Manonmani

Manonmani is a particular place situated at the eighth stage from the center of the two eyebrows and below the brahma-randhra in Sahasrara

2) Or it means a mudra famous in Yogasastra

3) Manamsi unmanyante (=utkrsta jnanayuktanikurute) yaya sa
She who leads the mind to the higher state when the distinction between meditation, meditator and the object of the meditation fades away and the Divine Reality is realized. This is called the Manonmani Stage

lalita Sahasranama # 206


1) Sarvatantrani (=vamakesvaradi) eva rupam (=sariram) yasyah sa

She who is the subject of all tantras

Tantras, the word, refers to the works such as the vamakesvara tantra

2) Sarvatatraih nirupya ya
She who is described in all the tantras

She is attained or she is sought for by means of all the tantra

Sarvamantrasvarupini, sarvayantratmika, and Sarvatantrarupa (names 204,205 & 206) together express the idea of the name no 203, i.e., Sarvamayi. That is why she called Sarvamayi

Lalita Sahasranama # 205


Sarvesam (=ghantargatadinam) yantranam iti sarvayantra, tesam atma (=svarupam) eva atmika= sarvayantratmika

She who is the essence of all the yantras ( i.e., mystic diagrams)

Yantras here stand for ghanta argala, etc.

Lalita Sahasranama # 204


Sarve (=saptakotisamkhayah) mantrah svarupamasyah

Having the form made up of all the mantras

Sarvamantra, the word, includes all the seven crores of mantras

Wednesday, April 21, 2010

Lalita Sahasranama # 203


Sarvam asti asyah

She possesses all forms.

All the tattvas beginning with earth and ending in Siva, are present in her. Also she is endowed with the powers of all the deities (sarvasaktimayi)

The name is attributed because without non separation there cannot be unlimited dominion.

Tuesday, April 20, 2010

Lalita Sahasranama # 202


Sarvesam isvari
She is the ruler of all

Lalita Sahasranama # 201

1) sadgatih (=svargadimoksantah) pradadati sa

She who leads to the real path
Sadgati, according to this interpretation, means all states beginning from svarga (heaven) to moksa
2) Satah (=brahmanah) gatim (avagatim=jnanam) pradadati sa

She who reveals the knowledge of Brahmin to the Devotee.
Sat means Brahman and gati=avagati = knowledge

satam gatim pradadatiti sa

She who leads to the path of wise men (goal of excellence)
Sat = satam=of wise, gati=goal. As she is the excellent goal. She directs devotees on that path

Lalita Sahasranama 200


Sarvani mangalani Yasyah sa

Who possesses all that which is auspicious

Lalita Sahasranama 199


1) Sarva saktayah santi asyah
She has all deities in herself

The name means that She is not separated from the saktis like Bala, Bagala, etc.

2) sarvadevasaktisamuharupini

She possess powers of all the gods and deities

3) Sarva also means infinite

Friday, April 16, 2010

Lalita Sahasranama # 198


Samanadhikabhyam varjita

She is devoid of equality and superiority complex

Being superior to all, nothing is equal or superior to her!

Till this, i.e., samanadhikavarjita, the nirguna aspect the 198th name of the goddess is described. From the 199th name onwards Her saguna form is described

Thursday, April 15, 2010

Lalita Sahasranama # 197

Sandra(=ghana) karuna yasyah sa

Whose loving compassion is deep.

Wednesday, April 14, 2010

Lalita Sahasranama # 196


Sarvam Jnantiti, sarvajna

She who is omniscient

Tuesday, April 13, 2010

Lalita Sahasranama # 195


dosaih (=ragadvesadibhih) varjita

She is devoid of blemishes

Dosa also means attachment and hatred.

Monday, April 12, 2010

Lalita Sahasranama # 194


duracaram (sastra viruddham acaram) samayati

She who destroys the irreligious customs

Duracara = customs against the scripture and prohibited smrti, etc

Sunday, April 11, 2010

Lalita Sahasranama # 193


dustanam ( dosavatam) dura ( aprapya)

She is far from sinful persons

She is far from those who never worship her.

Saturday, April 10, 2010

Lalita Sahasranama # 192


Sukhandi prakarsena dadati sa

She who showers excessive happiness

Sukha = happiness, i.e., happiness in this world and hereafter and the bliss of liberation from mundane existence

Friday, April 9, 2010

Lalita Sahasranama # 191


duhkhanam hantri

She is the remover of sorrows, i.e., She who removes the sorrows of empirical existence

Thursday, April 8, 2010

Lalita Sahasranama # 190


She who killed the demon called Durgam. The name refers to the Goddess of holy seat viz., sannati, on the bank of river Bhimarthi. The word durga is also explained in Devi Purana or Durga means a nine year old girl

Wednesday, April 7, 2010

Lalita Sahasranama # 189


1) duhkhena gantum satya

She is difficult to reach

The name is also read as adurgama - na vidyate durgame yasyah which means She is not difficult to approach (i.e., by Her grace)

Durgam mati sa

One who destroys the (demon) called durga

Tuesday, April 6, 2010

Lalita Sahasranama # 188


duhkhena labdhum satya

She is difficult to attain

Even the yogi has to undergo a long process (i.e., effort) to attain her

Monday, April 5, 2010

Lalita Sahasranama # 187


nirgatah atyayah yasyah sa

She who is without transgression

Atyaya may mean obstruction

Sunday, April 4, 2010

Lalita Sahasranama # 186


nirgatah apayah yasyah sa

She is without destructions, or she, who never departs

Saturday, April 3, 2010

Lalita Sahasranama # 185


nilah cikurah (kuntalah) yasyah sa

Whose locks of hair are blue

Friday, April 2, 2010

Lalita Sahasranama # 184


na vidyate tula yasyah sa

There is nothing which can be compared with her.

Thursday, April 1, 2010

Lalita Sahasranama # 183


nirgatah parigraha yasyah sa

Who is not receiving anything

Parigraha means attendants, wife, acceptance and root. She is having none of these as She is self-reliant