Friday, March 5, 2010

Lalita Sahasranama # 156


1) Nirgatam ragah (=kamah) yasyah sa
She who is free from passion

The text now proceeds to reject the theory that the differences in the mind belong to the self adn to teach that renunciation is the means of overcoming the six enemies, viz., kama (desire), krodha (wrath), lobha (greed), moha (bewilderment), mada (pride) and irsya (envy).

She is devoid of desire because she has satiated all her desires.

2) Raga - according to Sandilya Sutra (1.6), it means 'longing for'. But the goddess is free from it, as she has no object to long for.

3) niram (=jalam) agah (=parvatah) tadubhayarupa
Nira means water, aga mountain. She assumes both the forms

No comments:

Post a Comment