Tuesday, January 26, 2010

Lalita Sahasranama # 118


bhaktih priya yasyah sa
She who is pleased with worship

Bhakti = Devotion or worship. It is of two kinds, i.e., mukhya, primary and gauni, secondary. Of these the first type, primary bhakti is a particular mental modification called anurage about Isvara. This bhakti is otherwise called para (supreme). The secondary devotion is in the form of service (i.e., sevarupa) to the Lord and by this devotion one can attain the concentration. Moreover, the root bhaj means to serve. There are many kinds of devotions. According to some Puranas there are nine varieties of bhakti; according to some, ten kinds. All of those types are included here in the word bhakti.

No comments:

Post a Comment